Cressida’s Character- misunderstood?

I think it is all too easy to be judgemental of Cressida’s character. At first glance she can be seen as a woman who uses her sexuality to get her through life.  Cressida is unfaithful to Troilus after not wanting to be with him and then her reaction when she is exchanged can be seen as unwarranted. However, when you look at Cressida’s life, and what has led her to the point in her life that is the play. Her father has abandoned Cressida, and the only relative she has left seeks to trade her off to Troilus. After this comes “the news that she will be swapped for Antenor- will literally become an object of exchange”.  Her whole life she has been treated like an object that has been traded and swapped when seen fit by the men in her life. Her character is defined by the title given to her by whose “property” remains at the time. To only base your judgement on Cressida on your initial reading, does not do her character justice, and can result in a severe misjudgement. I think her past, and her treatment by other characters needs to be considered to get a true grasp of her character and motives.

4 responses »

  1. When I started Troilus and Cressida, I wondered whether Cressida was like Samantha Brick, a UK journalist in the news recently because she complained about how hard life was being an attractive, white female. Brick bemoans men lusting after her and says she much prefers the company of men because she can their friendship to gain social advantage.
    I thought that she and Cressida shared similar ideals – they are opportunistic, fickle, flirty and think they’re smarter than the average women.
    I was forced to eat my words after this weeks lecture and reading further…now your post has further cemented how short sighted my initial interpretations were! To judge Cressida only on her infidelity is not enough, you must consider the lead up to her sudden change of heart – a modern day analysis of her character could suggest she has abandonment issues and problems forming lasting relationships with men!

    I really like your suggestion that she has been a mere ‘object,’ it ties in with what MG was saying about Shakespeare’s perception of and attitudes towards women. I’m looking forward to finishing the play so I can fully grasp the complexity of her character.

    (Brick’s painful article can be found here: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2124246/Samantha-Brick-downsides-looking-pretty-Why-women-hate-beautiful.html?ITO=1490)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Engl 210 Peer Review Three | ponderingroom

  3. Hi Lesley,

    I understand where you are coming from with your thoughts about Cressida being misjudged. I also wrote about Cressida in my blog but I was much harsher. I agree that it is unfair that she is passed around like she is an object but I still don’t like the fact that she is so indecisive and fickle. I think I would like her character more if she had stood up for herself in some way or had fought to stay with Troilus.

    Kaitlin

    Reply
  4. Insightful reflections on this complex character. Overall your entries and your peer reviews are excellent. Good work.
    MG

    Reply

Leave a comment