Five Important lines from The Tempest

I chose the following lines from The Tempest, because I feel they are of great significance to the play. The following lines are said by Caliban and are directed to Prospero.

Thou strokedst me and madest much of me, wouldst give me
Water with berries in’t, and teach me how
To name the bigger light, and how the less,

That burn by day and night: and then I loved thee
And show’d thee all the qualities o’ the isle,

In these lines, Caliban is expressing his frustration in the fact that when Prospero arrived on the island, he was nice to him and treated him well. Prospero taught him to speak english and “name the bigger light” (the sun), and because of this Caliban taught him everything he knew about the island.

I feel like this is an important part of the play, as it gives us some insight into the mind of Caliban, who is portrayed as a savage and as a monster, yet his speech is written in verse. I think this speech portrays a sensitive side to this character and allows us to see things from his point of view. Caliban is perceived to be the villain, but this speech describes how he was the indigenous inhabitant of the island who was made to believe Prospero was there to be kind to him so he taught him everything he knew about the nature of the island. Instead, Prospero uses this knowledge against him and Caliban is forced to be his slave.

Whilst there are other story lines that occur throughout The Tempest such as Prospero seeking revenge or the love affair between Ferdinand and Miranda, I think this theme in the play that often gets over looked.

3 responses »

  1. Leslie,

    Nice insight on the character Caliban. My drama group performed The Tempest and we had those lines in our performance. Each time we practiced and I heard those lines again I found myself gaining a new image of Caliban. I started to understand how used he must have felt and I feel rather sorry for his character. Well done!

    Kaitlin

    Reply
  2. Lesley,

    I completely agree with you about Caliban. As a man who believed he is the rightful owner of the island, I find it amazing how gentlemanly he is about his speech, given that Prospero and Miranda speak of him as if he is only part man, some kind of monster. And Prospero was definitely a man who mistreated those he felt were inferior, or crossed him in some way, as Caliban apparently to violate Miranda.

    Reply

Leave a comment